I Survived Hurricane Sandy

 

 

As far as hurricanes go I don’t rate this one very high on the frightening scale. I’m speaking from the viewpoint of someone who lives in Boston and didn’t get a direct hit like New Jersey and Delaware or New York. Massachusetts got its fair share of high winds today, some topping upwards of hurricane force, which is 70 mph or greater. But most of this storm was gusts of wind and annoying rain that would come from the left and right at the same time. I think it was the fear factor for me because my car was parked in front of my house sandwiched between many trees and I wondered if any of those trees would drop a branch on it. There is an arm size branch that impaled itself in my front lawn, a small reminder that trees do most of the damage in a storm like this. And the entire street looks like it is paved in fallen leaves, golden and brown, wet from the rain. Those that hadn’t fallen are gone with the exception of my linden tree that is still green and will hold on until I curse it into December whereupon it will drop all of its leaves with the first snowfall. Presently it is eerily quiet, makes me wonder if there is more to come or has Sandy moved on to wreak havoc elsewhere.

Here’s some links to check out: http://northendwaterfront.com/2012/10/video-hurricane-sandy-churns-boston-harbor-on-waterfront/

This is the city and as you can see, it was pretty tame with the exception of wind and some rain.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJbzBLLcfkA      Hurricane Sandy at Scituate 3rd cliff beach.

Scituate and south-facing towns got hit pretty good though and I would have loved to have seen this all from a safe place. No, I would not liked to have been there in my car because fun can quickly turn to danger when the ocean is involved and I like my car enough to not see it swamped by sea water. But I like this excitement and like watching a good storm right after the danger has passed and the tide is still stirred up. Maybe this weekend it will be worth checking out when it is safer.

Hope it wasn’t bad where you were and if you lived nowhere near it, the better.

4 thoughts on “I Survived Hurricane Sandy

  1. lala1966 says:

    I am so glad you didn’t get the worst of it!

  2. PAZ says:

    You live in NYC?!

What have you got to say

