It’s My Birthday

Today is my 48th birthday and I am spending it the same way I spend every Monday. That is nothing unusual for people our age because middle age is supposed to be that way. I won’t be having a cake unless I want it made out of a potato because of my IBS but I got used to that four years ago when the disease really took over my life in earnest. I’m happy today though. It didn’t start out that way. I woke up too early needing the toilet like always because my daughter was eating her breakfast at four in the morning, banging and crashing about the kitchen. I went back to sleep to wake up again to the dog pushing the doggy gate down so he could get out of the kitchen. At that point I had to wee again (thanks menopause!) but my daughter was in the toilet and we have only one bathroom. So, I decided I would just give up on sleeping and distract myself until she got out of the bathroom. She reminded me it was my birthday and gave me a drawing of a rose that she had made. It was very nice of her. I like it when my daughters make me presents. Neither one has a job anyways and handmade gifts mean more to me. My younger daughter has been taking a drawing class in college that she really dislikes because the teacher is so strict but she has learned quite a lot. The drawing she gave me was very good considering she had never attempted to draw anything other than fashion models in the past. I also received many greetings from my friends on facebook and this made me feel very happy. So, instead of feeling older and thinking about what I can’t do, I feel really happy about having friends that take the time to say greetings or hello and at least I can eat a potato with a candle in it if I want to!

http://sciencesquad.questacon.edu.au/activities/edible_candle.html

And if you have nothing to do you can make an edible candle from a potato. This was the sort of things I used to do when I homeschooled my kids when they were younger. It would help to lighten up the day. So, I will try to stay happy for the sake of everyone I live with and remember I can always go back to my usual unpredictable bipolar self tomorrow….mwahahahaha. 😈

12 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday

  1. WeeGee says:

    Happy birthday Dorothy 🙂

  2. Dear Dorothy,

    ♬ ♪ Happy birthday to you,
    Happy birthday to you,
    Happy birthday, dear Dorothy,
    Happy birthday to you. ♬ ♪

    🙂

    Love Dotty xxx

  3. NZ Cate says:

    Happy birthday Dorothy. I hope the rest of your day was perfect. 🙂

  4. meandanxiety says:

    Happy Birthday! 😀 xx

  5. frangipani says:

    Happy Birthday, Dorothy!

  6. carlarenee45 says:

    Happy Birthday again!

What have you got to say

