Are You Afraid of Lists?

I bought a book the other day called ‘Life is a Verb: 37 Days to Wake Up, Be Mindful, and Live Intentionally’ by Patti Digh. Her stepfather had been diagnosed with lung cancer and only lived for 37 days after that. The book is based on things to try, for example, “do it now” 10-minute exercises which are based on a life lesson, etc. if you had only 37 days left to live. These are meaningful things, things that make you think and ponder what life taught you. So far I’ve enjoyed these lessons and some I’ve done with my older daughter too. For instance, one lesson I worked on last night while trying to fall asleep, was to list twenty things I was afraid to do. This is what I have so far.

  1. AFRAID TO SKYDIVE
  2. AFRAID TO GO IN CAR AS A PASSENGER WHEN A FRIEND IS DRIVING
  3. AFRAID TO LEARN TO SWIM PROPERLY
  4. AFRAID TO GO BACK TO COLLEGE
  5. AFRAID TO GO IN A SMALL CAVE
  6. AFRAID TO VISIT THE DYING
  7. AFRAID OF WEARING A BATHING SUIT
  8. AFRAID OF BEING TOLD TO SHUT UP
  9. AFRAID OF MY HOUSE CATCHING FIRE
  10. AFRAID OF SUCCESS
  11. AFRAID OF BEING ALONE

I thought this would be easier than it is but realistically it isn’t.

Some of these, the being alone and the visiting the dying I’ve done which is why I’m afraid of them and hate them too. Others, I’m terrified of and will never try if you gave me a trillion dollars. Keep it, I don’t care about money. It won’t matter if I’m dead.

By the way, the point of the lesson is to try to do one or two of these things each day and to conquer your fears.  Well, I suppose when I’m alone I could exercise to get rid of this cellulite on my hips and ass then maybe I would wear a bathing suit to the beach in the year 2016. Good thing the Mayans said we’ll ll be dead, now I don’t have to worry about a yellow, polka dot bikini or a blue one piece.

Can you come up with your own list of twenty things you’re afraid of? Or how about ten, if not twenty? I’d love to know some of them in the comments if you want to share.

6 thoughts on “Are You Afraid of Lists?

  1. WeeGee says:

    I’m afraid of moths, mushrooms and being abandoned. I’m afraid that I’m unlovable and that I’ll always be alone. I’m scared that I’ll never get bettter and I’m scared that I’ll get worse. I’m scared that my parent will die and I won’t know what to do. I’m afraid I’ll lose my job, and my home and my cat. I’m afraid of walking over bridges that cross water. I’ve no idea how many that is, but it’s enought to start with?!

  2. Dear Dorothy,

    Sorry, I can only think of one thing I’m scared of – everything.

    Love Dotty xxx

  3. carlarenee45 says:

    hey Dot, just checkin on ya, haven’t seen you around in a few days.

    • Dorothy says:

      Hi Carla,
      Thanks for checking in and sorry for not posting a little note saying I would not be able to post. My brother is on vacation which means twice the dishes, twice the cooking, twice everything. Also it stirs up my father somewhat and makes life harder. I’m tired but will try to get back to “normal” soon..lol.
      thanks again, it’s very nice of you
      Dot

  4. crazybeanrider says:

    What enlightning post. I am afraid of my parents dying, afraid my mother will never get better, afraid of people, afraid of never being able manage my bipolar & ADD. I listed only a few but am going to make my own list and work on it.

What have you got to say

