Midnight June 25

A daughter may outgrow your lap, but she will never outgrow your heart.

Nothing special about the day for me, a Monday and I can look forward to doing laundry and cooking. I actually enjoy doing both but I need to go to sleep. I haven’t slept properly in over a week now. By the way, every word I am typing is spelled incorrectly and if it weren’t for the spell checker this would look like a demented version of an illiterate’s jigsaw puzzle. I have been reduced to being happy if I can accomplish one thing each day. Honestly, one thing. Today, I swept the front walk and took photos of my garden. Taking photos wasn’t work. Sweeping was. I also made my father’s bed . There, I was done for the day. I was going to take a nap but my younger daughter NEEDED to talk to me. She shut the door and needed to talk to me. It was THAT important. I confronted her first. Asking her the questions mothers ask 18 year old daughters, the questions that no one wants to answer. But I did because I knew the answers before asking. Don’t get me wrong, she’s a good kid and I’m cool with her. Luckily we have got to a point that we can talk and I giver her privacy and respect. She understands that her mistakes are hers just like mine are mine but we are family and will always be and will help each other if we can. She just needed to talk about a guy that she was “dating”…..she wasn’t comfortable dating him nor anyone and needed to talk about that. I think she just needed to hear herself talk. In any case she felt better and then she asked if I could cook for her. Instead I offered to go out and buy something because I was tired. I bought her and her sister something. I never did get my nap. It’s strange how motherhood doesn’t change whether they’re 19 months or 19 years, I’m still tired and they still come first.

(I wrote this post last night and thought I published it but this morning it turned out it was not there. I think the lack of sleep is starting to effect me….hmmm…it’s possible..no?)

One thought on “Midnight June 25

  1. carlarenee45 says:

    better try and rest when you should. Keep busy with positive things, there are still a lot of positivity to be mindful of. 😉

What have you got to say

