30 Days of Thanks-Day 4

Today I am thankful for my sense of humor.  Yes, that’s right, my sense of humor. I might be confusing some of you who might only know me from my blog and have read my posts and think it’s depressing and sorrowful but actually I have a great sense of humor and I LOVE TO LAUGH. I think my love of laughter comes as a defense mechanism to my life because I was not always like this. I became the “clown” in my early twenties always cracking jokes and finding happy and fun people to be with because my own family was so miserable. This is one of my good personalities that I hide behind when I am under lots of stress and have to perform in public especially. I tell jokes to relax others and myself and try to be sociable on the outside. Calm, cool, and collected….while all hell is raging internally…LOL. What I consider funny has changed as I’ve gotten older but the ability to laugh at myself hasn’t changed at all. This I’m incredibly thankful for.

And here is one of my favorites which comes from the Ole and Lena line of jokes. If you’ve never heard of them, they are Norwegian jokes which stems from my Norwegian heritage.

Ole wasn’t feeling well so he went to the doctor. After examining him the doctor took his wife, Lena, aside, and said, “your husband has a very sensitive heart. I am afraid he’s not going to make it, unless you treat him like a king, which means you are at his every beck and call, 24 hours a day and that he doesn’t have to do anything himself.”

On the way home Ole asked with a note of concern “Vhat did he say?

“Vell,” Lena responded, “he said it looks like you probably von’t make it.”‘

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanks-Day 4

  1. carlarenee45 says:

    I would love to sit on the porch with you some evening and just laugh our butts off!

What have you got to say

