30 Days of Thanks-Day 2

Being a photographer one thing I am very thankful for is my eyesight. Each day when I am greeted by a new day whether it is a sunny one or a rainy one, whether I am happy or depressed I can surely say I am forever thankful to SEE it.

I’ve had a close call with my eyesight too. Back in 1987 I was filling my lawn mower with gasoline when the fill spout flipped out of the mower and splashed the gasoline into my face and into my eyes. At the time I wore contact lenses instead of glasses. I can assure you nothing feels quite like gasoline in the eyes, except maybe giving birth without any pain killers. My eyes were on fire! The first instinct was to shut them but I needed to get inside the house to a sink to rinse the gasoline out! So I did my best to keep them open and made my way inside to the kitchen. Then I had to remove my contact lenses and hold my eyes open under the running water. Honestly I don’t know how I managed to do this except for the fact that I knew that I had to. My sister was visiting at the time with my nephews who were only very small at the time and I told one of them to run up stairs to get her. She was terrified that I was blinded and like a good sister was no help what so ever. She did manage to drive me to the local emergency room for continued treatment though. Luckily the water had rinsed away most of the gasoline and since I had acted so quickly there was no residual damage.

Ever since then I have never worn contact lenses again though because I realize that glasses do protect the eyes more than contacts. I’ll never forget the pain I felt nor how lucky I was. The day could have ended very differently. Every time I see something now it’s a gift. Maybe that’s why I have over 11,000 photos on Flickr…lol.

One thought on “30 Days of Thanks-Day 2

  1. carlarenee45 says:

    that is one very important thing to be thankful for! Im so glad it turned out ok

What have you got to say

