Creativity Day 8

goodbye childhood friend
slipping away while sleeping
not saying goodbye
too many faces weeping

when did the tree get so high
we used to climb
ride our bikes down the hill
no brakes to stop it was such a thrill

hide and seek and
red rover, jump rope for hours
until the fireflies
came out- for our mothers we’d pick flowers

days last forever when childhood breathes
fly free my friend in the clouds with ease

Thanks for walking along with me in my childhood memory.

Today my best friend from childhood died in her sleep. She was 45 and had been battling cancer for almost two years. She leaves behind her husband and seven children. Her sister and her were my friends since I was six. Her sister was killed ten years ago in a car accident in Ireland. I am in a non feeling state right now. I am tired of death and cancer and can’t think about it anymore. Cancer really makes me angry.

3 thoughts on “Creativity Day 8

  1. carlarenee45 says:

    very lovely poem. reminds me of my childhood. Im so sorry about your friend hugs

  2. Dear Dorothy,

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Your poem is beautiful.

    Love Dotty xxx

What have you got to say

