30 Days of Creativity~Day Three

Today I’ll discuss my family. Near and dear to me.

FAMILY HISTORY

Alzheimer’s took my mother
Lewy Dementia my Dad
AIDS killed my brother
mental illness I had

My brother’s a hoarder
his room is a mess
I’d say please kill me
but my scars I detest

One daughter’s bipolar
The other’s anorexic
the older I get
my writings dyslexic

My doggie takes seizures
My finch is missing a toe
If I look much harder
the crazier I’ll go

My family is big
Their problems are too
They hide behind masks,
pretend and play ‘who knew?’

Except me who sees doctors.
years past and pills taken
wondering when it will end
will I ever awaken.

So, I wonder is the cure to all the ills lie hidden in not going to the doctor but convincing ourselves we’re not really ill? Who’s fooling who? If I walk around my backyard clucking like a chicken will I lay an egg?

I take Topoamax, Depakote, and Sertraline. I used to take more but stopped . The so called drug cocktail was an experiment and I am not a guinea pig.

Some family trees have beautiful leaves, and some have just a bunch of nuts.

6 thoughts on “30 Days of Creativity~Day Three

  1. carlarenee45 says:

    lol, thats very witty! Sounds like my family and no one goes to the doctor, they don’t even know their sick lol

  2. Dear Dorothy,

    Your photo is so analogically TRUE. Beautiful.

    Love Dotty xxx

  3. frangipani says:

    I think you’re doing just fine!
    Beautiful post and picture.

  4. Wonderful and witty. Loved it! Great photo as well. I enjoy reading your work. Looking foward to reading more.

What have you got to say

