Magic Blue Pills

This is my dog. He is one of the reasons I fall out of bed in the morning. Besides the typical needs of a dog in that the outside world is their toilet my dog also takes medication for grand-mal seizures or the prevention thereof. If he gets them, he gets them in clusters and it is a horribly stressful time to endure. So, I do all I can to prevent this from happening. The last two days I have had an off and on migraine. That is when I wake up with a migraine, it lasts all day but goes away about 6pm but then I wake up in the middle of the night and it is back again. Very frustrating when I am attending to my father too because I never know when he will wake up or what physical or mental state he will be in. Some days he is able to stand up other days he can barely hold up his own weight. So, all I can do is get up in the morning and try to ignore the pain of my migraine and ignore the sickness of the stomach. I try to eat so I can take the medications I’ve been prescribed. Thankfully I have my ‘magic blue pills’….these are Fioricet. A combination of butalbital (a barbiturate, 50 mg), acetaminophen (325 mg), caffeine (40 mg), and codeine (30 mg). Magic to me because otherwise I would be dragging myself across the floor. Now my brain just feels numb. I love my dog though because he will lay in the room and make sure all is well. So, the best part of having the responsibilities of my dog and my father is my own suffering is put on the back burner. I can’t dwell on it. I still have to cook the meals and do the laundry…migraine or not. Remarkably I begin to notice that the pain has subsided somewhat to a more tolerable level.

Yesterday I was able to just lie around and do nothing because my brother took care of my father. I took care of the dog but he mostly slept. The migraine dragged on much longer than today. Maybe just a coincidence, maybe because I slept for another three hours, maybe I’m getting them because I’m sleeping. I don’t know. Could be something I can talk to my doctor about at the dreaded physical in May. I just hope she doesn’t think I’m some kind of drug addict because I take so many of those blue pills. They are great though……Doctor, give me more!!!

One thought on “Magic Blue Pills

  1. carlarenee45 says:

    bless your heart Dot

What have you got to say

